What is True Love

To be honest, I don’t think there is a proper definition of love. If you don’t think that’s true. Ask to the public, rest assured, everyone will give a distinct form of definition. The definition of love for me has changed so much from when I was a kid, love to me was simply food and sleep. Don’t ask me why I didn’t include parent’s love in that list of things, because I wasn’t that mature enough to realize how much my parents loved me.

Similarly, if you ask a teenager what love is he/she will probably gush about his/her [dream] partner for hours. Not to say that all of us were like that when we were teenagers. When I was a teenager I wasn’t allowed to talk to boys, it seemed unfair to me because I couldn’t be friends with any of the guys in my class even though I wanted to. But now I could realize that my elders were just being protective because I was a naïve kid. To me now, gender doesn’t really matter for being friends, be it a guy or a girl, I’ll treat them just the same.

To a kid, love is either a candy or any other treat. A mother’s affection and care, even though a child wouldn’t be able to realize or express it in words, play a big role. As we grow up, we go through a phase where we act like rebels also called as being a teenager phase. There is no denial, I know that each and every one of us acted as if we were already adults. Changes arises. We would start to dress differently, speak differently and last but not the least most of our new bad habits skyrockets high. This phase is where most of our reputation that we had gathered and built up through the years will go down faster than an oiled up lid sliding down a water slide. Our mindset of what love is would have gone from a normal candy’s desire to a different kind of candy’s desire if you know what I mean. This is where we usually look past and forget the one most important lifeline in our life, our elders who brought us up. It can be your mom, dad, brother, sister, guardian… or a Gorilla if you are Tarzan. (Hi, Tarzan, I like you a lot. I’ve watched all of your series and movies, I’ve even played all of your game series. Drop by whenever you are free and also bring Jane with you. I want to see how she looks right now) Ignore the stuff in the parenthesis you common people; you are not Tarzan… Seriously, what we’re expecting to read in this section? Some kind of cheesy definition of love? Heck, no. Not in this day of age. Not in a thousand year. At least, not from me.

When you are an adult, you eventually realize that there are different forms of love. The love between two lovers isn’t the only form of love. If you are an adult and if you still haven’t realized this I pity you, you poor thing. (And also when you see a person who is good looking you’ll feel something that isn’t necessarily love, that’s just infatuation, this is a common misunderstanding) The main reason for this misunderstanding is that there are a countless number of Rom-Com movies which has the plot of a guy falling in love with a girl who looks good. But you will truly become a mature adult when you realize that what you should look for in your life partner is not good looks, but excellent character. No matter how pretty a wax chocolate looks, you can’t eat it, and even if you do, then you’ll maybe meet Tarzan. I wouldn’t say looks don’t matter, but keep in mind that looks shouldn’t be the only thing that matters. And of course, it shouldn’t be the only reason you started a relationship, if you still do… then say Hi, to Tarzan for me.

Now, ask yourself this question and review the answer and repeat it till you get the answer for the purest form of love. I got the answer to this question only a few months ago during this lockdown. I’m very thankful that I realized that the purest form of love is a parent’s love. This is my opinion, this may vary from person to person. If you are married or in a relationship and still if someone asks you what love is to you if you say that the love from your partner is, then you are happy being with that person. But, if you say that your parent’s love is, either you are not happy in your relationship or you simply love your parents more than you love your partner (Good luck, with the infinite number of fights with your partner that will occur because of this) There is also a third case where you love both your parent and your partner the same and also if you know how to keep this in balance then congratulations you can try out for the next Tarzan movie, even if you’re a girl don’t worry you try out for Jane or even Tarzan’s mother if you are like me.

Well, this has gone long enough for me to go on a snack break. And I believe you are hungry too, so let’s wrap things up. To me, if someone asks me what is the purest form of love to you, I would say it’s a parent’s love for their child, because they love you unconditionally, no matter how idiotic or useless you are. The important thing that you don’t realize is that no matter how old you get, even if you have kids, or even when your kids have kids, you will still be a child in the eyes of your parent. Just because some parents don’t express their love explicitly doesn’t mean that they don’t love you. They will love you no matter what, and you should always never forget that.

Written By:

Shreedevi

Leave a comment